Sign in to follow this  
khastra_ksc

A quick reverb/mix question... "live sound"?

I have a really bad recording room. Just a bedroom with soundproofing. Really really really quiet... But it has no "feel" as far as the room goes.

I was wondering if I can record all the instruments dry, and then add reverb to the entire mix... Or is that a bad idea? It sounds like a bad idea. lol...

I basically just want a simple way to give the feel of everyone being in the same room playing all at once. You know, give it some "space".

I am really new at this... So yeah. Any suggestions will be of mucho help.

Thate what I do. My converted garage is a dead room like being in a coffin. I have actuall had to add reflective surfaces just so I could stand being in there for any period of time. Any kind of time based effects will do wonders. The exception would be for drums. A reflective surface around them really makes a difference in how bright they sound with overheads. The same sound is difficult to reproduce.

Well, that basically what most studios do, record instruments dry and add reverb later.But you dont want to put reverb on everything. It's better when added to specific instruments or groups of instruments.for example, adding to snare and toms but not the the kick or the cymbals.

It's time to start experimenting with reverb.

I have a really bad recording room. Just a bedroom with soundproofing. Really really really quiet... But it has no "feel" as far as the room goes.

I was wondering if I can record all the instruments dry, and then add reverb to the entire mix... Or is that a bad idea? It sounds like a bad idea. lol...

I basically just want a simple way to give the feel of everyone being in the same room playing all at once. You know, give it some "space".

I am really new at this... So yeah. Any suggestions will be of mucho help.

Not a bad idea at all.

It's the way it's traditionally been done.