So I think I'm going to get a Mac mini...

ToeJamFootball

• Members

I've got an iMac and a powerbook, and I've never been happier with computers than with Macs...

The Processor is not the weak point in my opinion of the Minis, so I don't think you need to get the biggest one... RAM on the other hand is always useful...

Enjoy!

PJ

• Members

I use one of the older Mac Minis at work (pre-Intel) and have an Intel Mini at home. They're fantastic for what I do (graphic design), and are just easy to work with. It can't hurt - ever - to add more RAM.

I just remembered that I get 17% off Macs, so the Mini with a 1.83Ghz, 2GB of Ram and the extended support plan, with an 80GB HDD, is only going to cost me AUD$1500. Unless I'm remembering my discount wrong, and it is actually 1.7% then it will cost me AUD$1800

• Members

I don't have a mini, but I've been using Apple computers & OS X since 2001. Great OS & Apple's control of both hardware & software makes for a more efficient system (OS specifically designed for the hardware) in general.

If you plan to record, then stuff as much RAM as possible into that thing, but don't buy the RAM from Apple. You can get RAM from 3rd party vendors much cheaper.

Also, plan to pick up an external 7200RPM (or faster) FireWire hard drive for recording. Keep your OS & apps on the internal hard drive and keep all your data on the external.

• Members

I've used them...they are really cool. I've been wanting one myself. As far as youre faster proc or more RAM question...you're talking to the wrong guy. I'm a network admin, so the more the merrier. Get what you can afford...just make sure you do some homework to know that what you get will do what you want. If you're just doing recording, get as much RAM as you can...once you start piling up tracks you'll wish you had more!

• Members