who makes a 5 string p-bass

jonathan_matos5

• Members

Or p j bass?

To be a little more specific if prefer one with an ash body and a maple neck/fretboard.
:)

Ummmmmmmmm...

Fender, for one.

Although I'm betting that won't be the bass of choice for the five-stringers...

Billy-B

• Members

Ummmmmmmmm...

Fender, for one.

Billy-B

I'm yet to play any 5 string fenders I'm just beginning my quest for a fiver and I have been gassing for a pbass lately so I figured I would try to kill two birds with one stone

• Members

2 P/J's for you:

Godin Freeway 5 Leaftop (maple body, maple neck, rosewood board):

229416.jpg

Yamaha BB615 (alder body, maple neck, rosewood board):

230852.jpg

These are the only ones I can think of, unless you go used and even then there aren't a lot to choose from. They are both under $700 FWIW.

• Members

I've never seen a 5 string P bass. Lots of P/J's out there, but never just a P. I'd like to see one. Warmoth and Valenti and any number of custom builders could/would do it though.

I think Valenti did one before...for sure a PJ...around that $1500 range iirc...

Mike Lull makes a gorgeous looking 5'er P but that would be in that custom price range you mentioned

Those Yammys that AnalogKid posted get pretty solid reviews.

• Moderators

Celinder does. But that's in custom price land as well. Also I'd post a pic but their web-site is down until august?!?

Apparently it's not that high on their list of priorities.

Ha ha ha! When the website first listed it was down until August, they meant August of 2006.

Sadowsky:

http://www.sadowsky.com/stock/view/4652.html

http://www.sadowsky.com/stock/view/4678.html

• Members

Fender offered the Squier Protone 5-string P-bass briefly in the mid-'90s. I think they came with rosewood boards only, but I could be wrong.

I've heard a number of players rave about them in various forums. I've never played one myself. It may be worth checking out, especially if you can find one cheap.

• Members