Please school me on flatwounds

Muddslide

• Members

Let me preface this by saying I am no bass newbie. Been playing for over 25 years...lots of recording, tons of gigs, etc.

May seem surprising, then, that I am quite ignorant about flatwound strings. Just never tried them.

Could anyone give me the scoop on these things? Are they more for country/rockabilly-type stuff? What players are known for stringing with flats?

What is the sound difference in a nutshell? What are the advantages?

I'm in the process of buying a bass (finally, a new bass after 8 years without one--putting one in layaway this week!) and while I'm definitely going to be going with rounds, I like to cover a lot of territory.

I will be working on a recording project with a friend. Heavy, heavy stuff...Sabbath-influenced sort of deal. I'm assuming people wouldn't opt for flats for that kind of thing, but I hope to do some local gigging as well if I find anyone in need of a bassist, and I thought when and if the $$$ flow allows, I might try to score a relatively inexpensive hollowbody bass and go with flats for more rootsy, traditional music (Band, CCR, Neil Young, etc.)

Does this sound like I am on the right track? Ultimately, I'd just like to know why people would opt for flatwounds...what is their basic function and tone, etc.

Thanks in advance.

• Members

Flats are easier on the fingers and easier on the frets. You get less finger squeak when playing, and they tend to emphasize the primary tone without harmonics.

I love my '62 Jazz reissue with flats. It's a bit dull when practicing by myself, but it really sits in the mix well with a guitarist, guitar/keys player and a loud drummer. I can solo the neck pup and get thump for days, and solo the bridge pup and get a nice growl. If you do a lot of recording, you really should check out flats.:thu:

• Members