Anybody ever go through this?

Tom Joad

• Members

I've been playing bass for close to 6 years. I recently had about 800 dollars in bass gear(my P-bass, pedals, and a vintage Ampeg bass combo) stolen from me while I was attempting to relocate to Madison, Wisconsin. To make things even worse I had a computer with a good deal of recording software stolen too. So this left me with nothing at all. After about 2 months I moved back to Texas because I could make alot more money here and get new gear quicker.. It's taken me 6 months but I'm about to buy a brand new Macbook Pro.. I've already obtained a pretty solid Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass and I'm trying to get ahold of a Fender Bassman 250/115 before the end of the year..

The one problem I'm running into.. Is a total lack of creativity, I can't come up with anything interesting.. I can't play for as long as I used to.. I obviously can't get the tone I used to.. I feel like maybe the downtime I had after my {censored} was stolen affected my playing..

Has anybody else gone through something like this?

• Members

Even people who play constantly get into ruts. In your situation, I'm sure I wouldn't be very creative either!:eek:

You could try the different music approach, listening to something you don't normally, or do something else for a short time to re-energize your musical batteries.

• Members