How Long Until.....

cics_husband

• Members

I was talented immediately after I picked up the bass. As a matter of fact, I played "YYZ" in the pawn shop when I was checking out my first bass. I wasn't sure how it happened, but by week 2 I was throwing "Portrait of Tracy" all over the dweebs in the high school jazz band. They asked me to join but since I don't read music I didn't want to make any of them look foolish.

C7

• Members

Honestly, are you ever really "there?" Lots of top players still take lessons from others. There's SOOOO much to learn. I never took lessons, but it only took me a year to really "get it" and be able to play a couple of different styles well, know pentatonic scale major and minor, etc. But, I learn something new almost every week. I've been playing 20 years.

• Members

I've been playing bass since the summer of 2002, but played trombone my whole life which helped me considerably.

Once of the reasons bass often gets looked at as an easy instrument is that you can become "good enough" for many types of music pretty quick. As far as lessons, I just started taking lessons on bass 5 years into it and I don't see my self ever stopping. The value of lessons is huge. I wish I'd started sooner.

• Members

Good to hear the different ranges as far as time is concerned. My biggest asset is desire. I tend to throw myself nto whatever I'm doing at the time so practice is not an issue, but unlike some of you I may not be a natural. The guy who I will be taking lessons from is supposed to be a genius. Lets hope he is as good a teacher as he is a player. I heard so many good things about the guy.

• Members