OT: Old school computer nerds..... Remember the PS/1???

Funkee1

• Members

Not the Playstation...... The IBM PS/1? The computer that was supposed to revolutionize the industry (and put Macs out of business forever???)
:D

ibm_ps1.jpg

i had one in my office doing accounts with sage..

iirc it was a 20Mb mem..

when i studied we used 5" floppies and dos 3.2

• Members

Oh yeah... I remember those. And IIRC, they did gain marketshare over Macs because they were shipping with Windows 3.0 at one time.

That was still back in the days of the Microsoft/IBM union. Then every tom dick and harry started shipping their pc's with Windows 3.1, and as the old proverb goes... the rest is history.

I don't remember them going after the Mac market.

Well, I don't really know how much of a "market" there was. I mean, IBM and MS were putting out business machines. Apple was more popular in the home. But it wasn't like it is now. The home market (especially) was much more evenly split between several manufacturers - Commodore being the biggest at one point. Microsoft decided they needed to compete "graphically" with Apple... and here comes Windows - which was the successor to DosShell.

Anyone remember DosShell? That thing was kinda cool. Much more workable than the first few generations of Windows. But it wasn't a true graphical interface they way we know them today.

I even messed around with "Geos" on the Commodore for a little bit. Man, was that thing a hunk of {censored} from what I remember.

• Members

Mmm...Dos Shell. The magic gateway to Nibbles and Gorilla Gorilla (or whatever it was called). However I preferred Karatika, which we played on the Apple IIe's that our school bought with Campbell's soup labels. They replaced the Commodore 64 we used previously...for games.

Good memories (even if I'm not all that old).

• Members

I still have my
KIM-1
that I got in 1976.

Kim-1-computer.jpg