WHO TOUGHT YA TO PLAY A BASS??????

boogiebassbill

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Im more or less self instructed since 16 years old....it shows....haha

Same here, but I had structured lessons in a couple of other instruments starting when I was 6 years old, so it was easy to apply the teaching methods to the new instrument....but I can say that I am definitely self-taught on all the bass that I play....

• Members

i had lessons for about 3/5 months... from then on, i just taught myself... all that i learned (like 99%) was with myself and jamming... i developed my finger stamina and ear and all that just playing myself... mostly cose there arent any bass teachers in here, just guitar playing assholes thinking the bass is just a guitar with 4 strings and is only meant to go along with guitar, so they just try to teach along those lines... WRONG!!!

ive been playing for more then 2 years now...

• Members

I found bass by accident. In 12th grade, I used to sneak out of class early and give a buddy of mine a ride home on my way home. Well, one time, he invited me in to his house asking me if I wanted to check out his bass guitar. I went in, thinking to myself, who would want to play that boring instrument?? I picked it up, and picked a few notes on it and noticed it sounded a lot like "The Camera Eye" by Rush (I'm a huge Rush fan). I pretty much bought me my own bass the next day. The funniest thing is, this guy who pretty much introduced me to the bass, lost his position in a very good local band a few months later..........to me!!!!!! lol I stole his job in the band. Wasn't really trying to steal his job but ended up that way! I guess the drummer and gtr. player had the same interest in music as I did, and was digging how I was progressing on the bass, so they asked me to join. Needless to say, the "friend" I took the place of never spoke to me again to this day. :cry:

Mr. Matt
P.S. sounds like a sappy movie doesn't it???:p

• Members