How Do You Deal with Hand Pain?

LoC

• Members

I have been playing bass for 2 years this Thanksgiving. However, after the first few months of playing my hands have progressively hurt more, especially as I increase the level of technical skill and use different techniques. 85% of the time I sit and play, but when I stand I do have quite a low slung bass.

I have tried not playing for two weeks then playing for 15-20 minutes every day or so for two weeks. Then I increased it to 15-20 mins for 2 or more sessions each or every other day. Recently within the past 3 weeks I have been playing for 30-45 minutes once or twice or for an hour each day.

At first my hands wren;t bothered much but now they hurt just as bad as when I played 1-2 hours a day or possibly two sessions a day. It totally sucks. The top of both hands hurt as I can feel the tendons are sore from my hand through my elbows along the bone. How do you all deal with it and/or overcome it? I really really want/need to able to play 2+ hours a day. Any help is appreciated.

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Warm up better and stretch more!

Also, you might want to rethink the whole low slung bass while standing thing. It puts your hands and arms in awkward positions, as well as puts stresses that you don;t need to deal with.

IMHO the optimal strap height is when your bass is the same height whether standing or sitting.

• Members

Not to a point where it hurts, but I've felt some when I move the left wrist laterally. I can bend it and go limp all I want, but when I move side to side, sometimes i feel something unusual. Though, it's rare that I have to move the wrist such way durin gplaying.

• Members

I've struggled with pain over the years, here are a few tips:

1. Always play as relaxed as possible.

2. Let your hands/arms/wrists "fall" into position- look at yourself play in the mirror, watch out for unnatural motions/techniques

3. Practice the same way that you play out