Need Help Choosing Which Bass To Buy!

gljerry

• Members

Hello everyone here on the Bass forums I am a guitarist/singer looking for my first bass to throw down some bass tracks. I only need it for recording and will never be playing it live. And I dont want to spend a lot.

I think I wan't a variax 700, here's why:

I hear it's built / plays really well,

It models 25 of the most importaint basses.

It comes with a DI box.

It's on sale everywhere for $500 right now. Used to be $1,200. $1,600 list!

It 's got great reviews pretty much everywhere, If it's good for $1,200 It'll be damn good for $500.

I'm thinking a Mexican Fender or Korean Spector or Schecter will be the same quality with WAY less versitility and an unfinished neck.

You guys agree? Should I grab on of these?

Like I said, I wont be playing It live and I'm not a huge bass player so for recording this seems like a killer deal.

• Members

I dont really like unfinished necks. A little lacquer feels better, (to me)

I'm the total opposite. An unfinished neck is like a Ferrari. Nice, fast, sleek. A finished neck is like a school bus. Slow, ugly, sluggish.

I've never played the Variax, but I've heard good things about them as well. I would get one with the POD XT or X3 as well, so you can actually take advantage of everything it can do.

If it were me, I'm not sure what I would do.

• Members

For recording purposes? Why not? I think it would be a great tool for you. I personally think the basses were merely adequate, but it may have been a set-up issue.

The Variax and Pods get some great tones and I can just imagine how valuable a tool they would be in the studio, just don't use them live.

• Members

Variax: Id buy it. Record. Then take it back to guitar center and get your money back! Ok looking, but c'mon. $500 is too much to spend if you dont plan on being a bass player. Variax sucks anyway!