So here I am... new to bass.

mstreck

• Members

I am going to be playing bass on a few songs so my band's bassist can play some guitar.

I was lucky enough to be able to buy a bass from a friend - but that's as far as I got.

Any tips/suggestions? I'm totally out of my realm here.

Thanks!

Mike

• Members

How long have you been playing guitar? I found that playing guitar for about 15 years before switching to bass really helped. I knew where all of the notes were, I had a technique down, it just made it easier.

I'd say I've been playing guitar for about 6 years. I do know the fretboard and have a pretty good grasp on theory (extended chords, modes, etc.).

We play a lot of modern and 80s pop/rock.

I think one huge hurdle is going to be learning to play without a pick. :freak:

• Members

I'd say I've been playing guitar for about 6 years. I do know the fretboard and have a pretty good grasp on theory (extended chords, modes, etc.).

We play a lot of modern and 80s pop/rock.

I think one huge hurdle is going to be learning to play without a pick.
:freak:

A lot of modern and 80's pop/rock was played with a pick. No reason to put it down now! :)

• Members

A lot of modern and 80's pop/rock was played with a pick. No reason to put it down now!
:)

+1. No reason to not play with a pick, unless you're going for that fingerstyle sound. I play with a pick probably 85% of the time because it gets me the tone I want. The more tools you've got, the better off you are going to be!

• Members

Ahhhh... well... I guess I'm good to go then.

Now if I could just figure out how to strum the damn thing!
:D

Ha, well that's ONE thing you won't be doing unless you've got some strong hands and are quite comfy with your chording technique on bass! ;)

Remember to use the fat/back of your palm as a mute, if that makes sense. I try to do that to make sure I keep my attack quick and right on when I wield the Dunlop 1.14! :thu:

• Members