Cable or dish?

bassman1956

• Members

Hey all,

The new place gives me a choice of what to get. The last owner was set up with dish, had a splitter and 2 different boxes. The dish remains on the roof, so all I need is the box and a contract. Cable used to be run to the house, so it's at a nearby pole, and can be hooked up to the same connection outside.

I've been using Comcast cable for the last several years. It's around $65/mo for basic but not barebones cable, IE, I get anything that's not pay or HD. About 50 channels total that I use, or about 60 total I can get. They're lowering the number of channels as they push things to upper-tier packages and HD, and they use so much satelite transmission that I get the satelite flaws they advertise you don't get with cable anyways.

Have a 27" CRT now, aiming at upgrading to a 40" flatscreen in the next year, may as well plan for HD now too.

No idea what a dish package will run me. Upgrading the cable will make it around $100/mo.

Pros and cons, anyone?

• Members

I had Dish for a few months. Their equipment was so unreliable and their customer service so bad I fired them with 9 months left on my contract. They said I'd have to pay the remainder of my contract. Fine, I told them, it would be worth any price to get their {censored}ty equipment out of my house.

I went back to DirecTV and I gots no problems or complaints.

• Members

Coming from you, I can't tell if you're being a smartass or not, but I'll answer succinctly anyhow-

and yes, it does. By far.
:)

Nope, not being a smartass, just asking an honest question. So is that because satellite has more HD content, or is the picture even better for comparable non-HD content?

I really don't have much personal experience with dish systems, and I'm somewhat curious, as I'm getting fed up with my cable bill.

• Members