OT: So I'm making a website and need a host

Renfield

• Members

I feel downright stupid having to ask for some advice on this topic considering what I get paid to do for a living, but here it goes all the same...

A friend is opening a small retail store in town and asked me to make a website for him, as I do this stuff at the day job. The day job was/is my only experience in web design to date, self taught, learn as I go. What that means is that I can design and build a great website, but I came into this company and they had a pre-existing domain registered, pre-existing hosting set up and all that. I just maintain the existing site.

Since this is my only experience in the field, I have never once actually had to go out, register a name, acquire hosting, set up an email account that will match the .com name and so on. And as such, I have NO idea where to start, who is good, who isn't.

In a perfect world I'd like to find one place that will take care of all this stuff. I am a smart, computer savvy guy, I don't need someone to hold my hand, but I do need help getting pointed in the right direction.

Does anyone know of a good hosting/registration company that I can turn to to help get me up and running quickly? Ideally I'd like to pay via Paypal too, I don't have a credit card these days, but do have a verified Paypal account.

• Members

In my experience, as well as my other friends, godaddy was a piece of {censored}. Spend the extra $5 and go somewhere worth your money.

www.surpasshosting.com

I've used them for hosting and domains for years. They actually have a ridiculous holiday special coming up if you can wait a couple of weeks. I've recommended these guys to everyone I know and none of us could be happier. Great uptime, great prices, excellent customer service... What more could you want?

Let me know if you have any questions. Oh, and put my website down as a reference :D

• Members