Noobish Ampeg SVT-4pro questions

peavey_impact

• Members

Hello everyone :)

I'm a total bass amp noob. My bassist is probably an even bigger noob than I am tech-wise, and he just bought an ampeg svt-4pro halfstack (SVT 4x10 cab).

I have a few questions. The cab is 8 ohms and rated at 500w. Since this is the only cab he is running, should the amp be run in mono bridged mode? I'm unsure because the specs make it look like the amp will be pumping some serious wattage in that mode.

We fired it up last night set to stereo output and it sounded good but I was expecting it to move more air than it was. Also, the peak and limit lights were blinking freely, is this normal? The amp wasn't even really cranked yet it was still peaking.

As a final question, is the dial on the back of the cab just a tweeter level control? What is a "typical" setting for the dial?

• CMS Author

I had one of these for a year or so. It's nowhere near as loud as the specs would indicate. No idea why, but it's a common comment I've heard from others. My present SVT-CL blows it away.

At any rate, I used it during that time in bridged mono, into a 600w PR-410HLF. I didn't push it much or often, and it was fine.

The peak shouldn't be on like that. Lower the gain until it doesn't. If the bass is active (has a battery preamp), obviously use the active input jack. The limiter light is only showing that you've reached maximum output and anything more gets reduced by the limiter. This isn't necessarily a problem, but it tends to add some ugly compression distortion.

Note that if you use bridge mono, the little tiny pushbutton switch on the back panel has to be depressed below, not flush with, the panel. Use a pencil or thin tool to do this. If you forget, the amp will have almost no output and it'll be distorted, so you'll know right away. Pay attention to the pinouts for the Speakons, as they use different pins for bridged mono.