"cleaning" dirty pots ??

Azz301

• Members

I've got a GK 700RB (I think its getting a little old now) and a few of the knobs produce a crackling sound when turned, but are ok when they are left alone.

I'm told these are just dirty pots. So how hard are they to clean? Can I do it myself, or should I take it in for a service?

I have very little electrical experience.

• Members

You can try spraying down the shaft but you need to spray it from the inside or you'll just waste a lot of cleaner. The method differs depending on the pot but usually you can get the extension in an opening around the three terminal lugs which in your case will be against the PCB. Sometimes you can spray through the back. Just look for an opening in the shell. Given your experience, you'd probably be better off taking it in.

• Members

You can try spraying down the shaft but you need to spray it from the inside or you'll just waste a lot of cleaner. The method differs depending on the pot but usually you can get the extension in an opening around the three terminal lugs which in your case will be against the PCB. Sometimes you can spray through the back. Just look for an opening in the shell. Given your experience, you'd probably be better off taking it in.