Switching from guitar...advice?

sodacose

• Members

Greeting all! I hail from the EG forum.

I recently started playing with a new group on bass. Funny side note: I joined this group with our bassist while the one I played lead for is on hiatus for a couple months; we swapped instruments because he pines for the missing strings. So far, I friggin' love it!

I used to play bass in another group years ago when I was just starting out, so I dusted off what was left of the old gear and started playing. Problem is that what was left was a beat-to-hell Ibanez four-string and a 60w Crate amp. I've already caved for a MIM Jazz bass, but I'm looking for a nicer combo for practice and possibly smaller gigs.

Can anyone give me any suggestions on a good, portable 100w-ish combo? I'm looking to spend probably around $300-500. For larger gigs, I'll use my buddy's rig. I've been eyeing the GK MB amps and they look promising, albeit a little expensive. The sound I try to go for is mostly clean, finger-style with some slap-and-pluck thrown in. READ: funky.

Another thing I'm thinking about is swaping the pups in my new bass. I'd like it just a bit quieter. I know with EG pups that single coils generally give the best high end at the sacrifice of hum; I assume bass pups are similar? Anyone tried the Guitar Fetish replacements? I've had luck with their EG pups, but there aren't many reviews of their bass stuff out there.

Any other essentials in the bass-player tool-box?

Sorry, it's a lot of questions, but I'm pretty jazzed up about being back on bass, sliding grooves under the radar and up peoples legs.

My picking hand hurts so good.

• Members

Another thing I'm thinking about is swaping the pups in my new bass. I'd like it just a bit quieter.

Why can't you just turn the volume knob a little bit to the left?

Maybe it's just me, but new PUP's seems like an expensive option to make your bass a bit quieter. :idk:

• Members