Bass processors

seilerbird

• Members

I have been playing guitar for over 40 years and just last week I bought my first bass guitar. I got a no-name copy of a Beatle Bass for $100 new on eBay and I got a Crate 100 watt 15 inch speaker amp for $167. For less than $300 it sounds killer. I have been using guitar processors since they first hit the market and could not imagine playing guitar without one. So naturally I went shopping for a bass processor. I have played a few and I don't like them. They make some cool sounds, that's for sure, but I prefer running the bass straight into the amp with all the controls set for as bassy a sound as I can get. The amp has a distortion channel and an octave control and I use neither. I simply use the bass pickup run into the clean channel with all the amp controls set as bassy as possible. This gives me the gigantic heavy bass sound I love.

So my question is do most bass players use a processor or just run straight into their amp? If you do use a processor then which one and why?

photo?authkey=M_y-1HLkmMU#51650640016353

Thanks in advance for your help.

• Members

Most guys run straight into the amp.

I would say that more guys use individual pedals than processors, but the ones that do use procs mostly use a Boss GT-6B or POD XTL...there are a few others as well, but they are the most common.

I use pedals. I think they sound better than a proc. I think they are easier to use as well...and they look cool! :)

• Members

I am seriously gassing for a Gt-6b at the moment. Heh.

I think a lot of people like the analog effects, but I can't be bothered. Digital sounds fine for a lot of things. Chorus is pretty cool.

Something I am concerned about is how good the digital compression is, but I know nothing about that :)

For me, it's mostly distortion that sounds like {censored} digital, so I'll keep my MXR pedal in the loop and use it for distortion if I need it.