dont know which bass to buy........

iracemx199

• Members

Either the Squire Vintage Modified Jazz Bass- $280

416354.jpg

Or a Fender Standard Jazz Bass- $480

327504.jpg

I've heard pretty good things about the Squire bass, considering its a Squire. And of course you can't go wrong with a fender. I kinda like the looks of the squire better. I don't really need anything special, just something to put bass into my recordings and I'm not a pro bass player or anything.

opinions??:thu:

• Members

Don't buy a Fender at all. :poke:

I would go with a used G&L JB series if you have to have the jazz bass. Check out Ibanez, Schecter, Peavey, G&L, Rondo basses, etc as well. Make sure you try before you by to find out what kind of set-up you like.

• Members

Well, when you do try them out, make sure to out several amps too. I almost bought a bass that I thought was good, but in reality I was just playing on a freakin' awesome cab, so it sounded good.

+1. If possible, play something as close to your amp (or if the store carries your amp) in order to get the closest reproduction of it. Either should suit you just fine; the only reason I might choose the Fender over the Squire is that if you sell it at some point, the Fender would be easier to unload.

• Members

ESP my balls, it's like playing bass with a bin. Ibanez are good around the 400 mark...BTB Series are cool if that's your style.

Try both definately, the Squiers are great but i'd go for Fender as the tonal capabilities will cane it's price range competitors.

• Members

I've played both and I like the Standard Jazz a little better in terms of tone... but the Squire is awesome looking!

Personally, I would buy the Squire and mod it. HipShot, BAIII, new Preamp and controls, experiment with pickups.

• Members

Try them both !