Looking for a good Violin-Style Bass (best bang for my buck options)

V

• Members

Ok, so I really like the sound of the Hofner-style Violin bass and I think it would work really well for my kind of music. I am not too keen on spending 2 grand on the top-shelf Hofner since I'm mainly a guitarist/singer/songwriter looking for a nice recording bass.

I have tried the Epiphone Viola bass and liked it well enough, but I wanted opinions on what might be the best Violin-style bass for its cost. For instance, how do the lower-end Hofners compare to the Epiphone? etc.

Also, I often like the bass sounds I hear on Deerhoof records. Does anyone know what Satomi uses?

Thanks in advance.

• Members

I have a Hofner Contemporary. It's a dead on copy of the higher end bass and plays and sounds great.

I'll have to see if I can find one in a music shop around here. It seems like it's probably a really good value for the 700-800 that it costs.

Ideally, I'd like to try out all these basses side by side, but that sounds like a unlikely proposal.

• Members

All of the budget violin basses out there (Epi, Rogue, Hofner, Turser) that I have played have felt basically the same to me. Are they all made by the same company? Wouldn't surprise me. All have been very nice.

MF has the Rogue for $199 right now. That's the one I'd go for.

• Members

I think I'm going to stop by my local GC tomorrow and see if they have any V-style basses.

My local guitar shop is selling an Epi, but they want like 500 for it for some reason. It plays well and everything, but jeez. If I'm going to go up in that range i might as well get the Hofner CT.

• Members

I think I'm going to stop by my local GC tomorrow and see if they have any V-style basses.

My local guitar shop is selling an Epi, but they want like 500 for it for some reason. It plays well and everything, but jeez. If I'm going to go up in that range i might as well get the Hofner CT.