Learning basic bass for a guitarist

John Rimbaud

• Members

Hello

I've been playing the guitar for about 6 years. I'm not thinking about stopping it, but i'd like to get myself a cheap bass to record more interesting bass tracks for my song (i'm using a vsti right now, sounds awfull). Is it hard for a guitarist to get some basic bass skill ? I've tried one once and i managed to get some cool riffs with it but i was playing with a plectrum :p

• Members

my best advice...listen to songs in the genre you like and copy some bass parts note for note, rhythm for rhythm.

Biggest mistake guitarists make is not understanding the bass concept.

You probably have all the physical skills you need...or can get up to speed in short order. It's the groove, the feel, the SPACE BETWEEN notes that makes a bass line.

seriously - note for note...it's not as easy as it sounds but will yield good results

• Members

If you're looking to play bass without a plectrum you should get a resource/book that explains the basic technique so that you don't start off on the wrong foot (er...finger). It sucks to un-learn bad habits.

I'd also recommend finding a resource with lots of different rhythms. Think of the bass as a combination between the guitar and drums.

• Members

About the plectrum, is it "bad" to use it ? I'm going to play mostly thrash, power and speed metal (i also play hard rock and blues but i don't write that kind of songs) and the bassist too has to play awfully fast sometimes, like in holy wars from megadeth, do they play with their fingers ?

• Members

About the plectrum, is it "bad" to use it ? I'm going to play mostly thrash, power and speed metal (i also play hard rock and blues but i don't write that kind of songs) and the bassist too has to play awfully fast sometimes, like in holy wars from megadeth, do they play with their fingers ?