Thinking about taking the frets out of a Yamaha John Myung bass

Unalaska

• Members

I've had the RBXJM6 (?) for a few years now and it's a pretty good bass. Nice solid focused low end, decent top end, has a nice variety of pickup settings. The bridge had to be replaced since it was missing parts when I bought it, the fret ends are sharp and hanging over the fretboard just a bit on both sides; it would prolly hurt if I baseball bat gripped while I play but I don't. So it needs fret work...

Well I'd jonesin' for a good fretless. And, well, tax season means I can't really drop some big bux on a nice fretless. This bass would be a great fretless I think but 2 things bug me: the fretboard is not the usual rosewood, i dunno what it is. And doI fill the fret slots with something other then wood filler. Oh yeah, do I refinish the board (I'd have to right?)

any thoughts...?

(I'm usually on the live-sound board but lurk here occasionally. I play bass for a living and run a small sound co, basses are my tools but this bass has been collecting dust becoming more unplayable as it sits)

• Members

What's wrong with wood filler. I put some in my bass years ago . Not one single problem with it.

My neck is rosewood. And I put no finish over it. Do you have any idea what your board may be?

You could slot in some Veneers like Solder junkie did..

My wood filler neck;

DSC01433.jpg

OK I didn't do the best job at taking out the frets , but i was 18 at the time and did not have the interwebs to research it

• Members

but 2 things bug me: the fretboard is not the usual rosewood, i dunno what it is. And doI fill the fret slots with something other then wood filler. Oh yeah, do I refinish the board (I'd have to right?)

1. It's ebony...very common in basses. It's harder and denser than rosewood...so it should make for a nice fretless board...