Suggestions for Graphic Design of Band Logo?

Phantasm

• Members

Okay, my new cover band is rolling and shows are starting to roll in. Now we're at the point where we need a band logo for posters, stickers, t-shirts, etc. and we just can't seem to find a way for one of us or someone close to the band to get this done.

Have any of you paid someone to do this sort of work for you? I'm most curious about cost and if you used someone online that you can recommend. Most bands have someone close to them who can do the work, but we do not and it seems like we're going to have to put up for it.

I found www.thelogocompany.net by using Google, it would be a good example of what I'm looking for - a turnkey service where I pay a fee, make a description, and they present several ideas for the logo. The chosen design is then refined to a finished product, in multiple formats including a vector art file. The issue with them is that I've got no experience nor do I know anyone who has experience with them.

So, suggestions anyone?

• Members

Depends on how big you are, I just whipped up a Myspace layout and logo for my band since we're not huge around here using photoshop, so if you want to take the time to learn the basics of it/have a touch of creativity that would be my plug. www.myspace.com/straightarmmusic

If you're going to be doing a ton of shows and a lot of merch, pay someone. The difference between doing it yourself and a professional's job is unmatched.

-Dan!

• Members

Your band name is actually pretty conductive to the kind of logo that those sites make -- something like a little red moped with the letters scattered at an angle across the top left, with a circle on the background, or something. I can try to throw something together for you, but I will always recommend people go to an actual graphic designer for stuff like this, otherwise it almost ALWAYS ends up looking "homemade" ... and unprofessional.