Songlist for acoustic restaurant/small bar gigs

SunRaFan

• Members

Hi,

I'm putting together a duo for sit down restaurant/small bar gigs. Female singer/keyboards and I'm a guitarist/a little backup vocals. My main question is for people who have done these sorts of gigs what sort of balance do you try to strike between easy listening sort of fare and more up-tempo or edgy stuff.

These are the songs we've learned so far :

Neil Young - Helpless

Patsy Cline - Crazy

The Band - I Shall Be Released

Gillian Welch - I want to Sing that Rock 'n Roll

Gillian Welch - Orphan Girl

Georgia on My Mind

Beatles - blackbird

Radiohead - True Love waits

Buffalo Springfield - for what it's worth

White Stripes - fell in love with a girl

White Stripes - my doorbell

Radiohead - spinning plates

Man of Constant Sorrow

Leadbelly/Nirvana - where did you sleep last night

Patsy Cline - walking after midnight

Duke Ellington - in a sentimental mood

• Members

Im just oppositte -- I like having a wide variety of material to pull from as I never know whos going to be in any one establishment and what they want to hear or are in the mood for

Before I quit playing music fulltime in 2008, I did a duo with an acoustic guitar player ( I played 12-String bass, on some stuff I also played keyboards/left hand bass, and ran a Boss Dr-3 drum machine with my feet :D ). We both sang. This duo was a big part of my income

In the past, a Wide variety of music = Way more tips and way more gigs available :thu:

Also, I used to like 'tricking' club owners: When you are having a good night, but the bar owner thinks you are too loud, just switch formats to a lighter style :D Worked everytime

Looking at your list, I think you need more 70s and 80s...........

For bar gigs, try and do stuff that gets everybody singing

For restaraunt gigs, I find that staying unobtrusive in the background is the best way to do those as a duo

Good Luck :thu:

• Members