Choosing to session over joining a band

FitchFY

• Members

Here's the short version: I'm a competent drummer and found an add online for a younger band looking for a drummer. I was under the impression that they were a bit more established, as they said they had 19 songs in the bag. Turns out they have that many written, but the band doesn't know `em yet. They're a start-out; younger guys, all early 20s, very little stage experience. I'm 28 and have been around the block a few times.

The tunes are great and they're REALLY nice kids, but I just don't want to do another start up in a city (Boston) where I can find an existing band and keep doing my thing. I sent the below e-mail, but I can't help but feel like I'm being a d*ck. I stayed honest and open, and I mean everything in the e-mail, but do was this cool or did I jerk out?

Hey guys,

Thanks for including me on this

• Members

Now, make sure you can knock off their full time drummer after you see how many people 20 year olds can get out to shows!!!!
:lol:

Haha! It's like gambling! I mean, if they blow up and everyone goes nuts for `em, I'll have "bet on the wrong horse" syndrome in the worst way. :D

• Members

Hmm, well... I think the letter is good and it's cool of you to offer to do that. But I'm not really sure why you made the decision you did. When looking for an original band, IMO the #1 priorities should be if you like the songs and you like the guys - NOT where they are in the process. I know you've "been around the block" but every band is a startup at some point, and I don't think having "paid your dues" with other bands means you get some kind of free pass from the universe that entitles you to skip over that process.