In 30 years, this is my first time ever needing a sub

TrickyBoy

• Members

We have a rather important gig coming up in June and our drummer can't make it. We decided as a band (drummer agreeing) that we needed to get a sub and do the gig. We found a really good drummer to fill in. The guy has done fill in work for other bands in the past, but we're kind of weird in that we do quite a few "original" arrangements, medleys, etc. My idea for preparation was as follows:

1. Put together our basic setlist for the show in the next couple of weeks and get it to the sub. My estimate is that 75% of the songs are ones he has done before and we do pretty much as recorded.

2. Make recordings of the medleys for him to listen to.

3. Try to get him to sit in one rehearsal in the middle of may to get a feel for how we play, have him spit some time with our drummer. Than one or two with him playing right before the show.

4. We have one 6-song medley that's pretty involved. I'm thinking we're better off leaving that one out for this show.

Am I missing anything???

• Members

The band used a sub for the first time in March. Our bassist was called out of town for work about a week before our gig. I called a bassist friend of the band and we only had a few days to prep for the gig. This is what I did.

Many of our songs we re-arrange and stick in medleys. Some are very involved too. But we have alot of video of the band so I took the best stuff I could find and ripped the audio to CD. He got two cds filled with most of our stuff monday night.

wednesday & thursday we played through everything he knew/we knew and what I gave him. He also wrote charts for most of the stuff.

Saturday we gigged and it went fine. We played most of medleys.

:thu:

You are in a better situation cuz you have more time.

• Members

lol...I thought you meant sub-woofer...glad to hear that's not the case!