Supercharge your Band's Bookings

• Replies 139
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Not to be a dick, but as a professional sales manager, I wouldn't hire anyone who took this type of approach. {censored}, I wouldn't trust you to cut my grass. A recap of this article in one sentence: "When trying to book your band, lie your ass off." This used car salesman sleazy approach drives me crazy in the professional world and I certainly would never apply it to booking our band.

How about a very simple approach. Be professional. Dress nice when visiting clubs. If the club owner says, call me after 2 tomorrow and we'll talk, call him at 2:05. Club owners get lying sacks of {censored} in every day that lie about who they are and what they're going to draw, why not differentiate yourself by being honest?

In a nutshell, I would tell anyone to disregard anything in this article.

• Members

+1000!

I'm sorry, but how do you expect to get away with this anyway if you're a member of the freaking band? What will they say when "Joe Lilly" of "Lilly Entertainment" shows up schlepping a guitar case? Or, should we hire "roadies" to load in our gear? Perhaps a fill in player so they won't know you're the player? Hey, you gotta spend money to make money, right?

Yeah, sorry, but this article is utter crap. TrickyBoy's approach is the one I take, and it works just fine. Ask Wheresgrant how Nuts in a Blender have clearly established themselves in their region. I bet it wasn't by lying through their teeth.

• Members

I don't think a lot of this works in the area of booking a cover band in a local venue. For that, there is no substitute for face time and professionalism.

Hell, if you call any of the clubs I play and ask for someone's voicemail, the bartender answering the phone will say "You're talking to it"!!!