How to find a decent band!??

symeboy

• Members

I have had years of fustration trying to get my band going and I am constantly feeling dejected about it!

The truth is that I know I am a good song writer and a decent all round musician, but I can never find anyone else who is any good! :cry:

I can listen to music and pretty much play along with it after hearing it a couple of times. Surely this isnt amazing or anything special, but every other musician (except for one great drummer) needed tab or needed to practice songs for ages before getting it!

I am always the band leader coz I sing and write the songs, but I feel I am always dragging people along and making comprimises to deal with other people's lack of ability.

This all sounds a bit arrogant I know, but I have been very diplomatic for many years now and fustration is begining to take its toll!

How did all the great bands meet each other!?

Maybe I should just join an existing band who can play a bit, then try to slowly wrestle the reigns from the guy in charge!? :confused:

• Moderators

If your songs are good, your sound is marketable, you live in a place with a healthy scene, and you're reasonably personable, odds are, given a little time and effort, you will attract talented people to play with you. Are you maybe missing one or more of those?

:idk:

• Members

Yeah I have been moving around alot the past 10 years, the longest I stayed in one place was 4 years and I finally managed to get a decent lineup going until the guitarist moved away!

I am finally in a a big city now (just moved a month ago) but I am fustrated because I seem to keep uncovering talentless douche after talentless douche!