"Pointless" second guitarists

Tubefox

• Members

How do you guys feel about bands that have a second guitarist who plays EXACTLY what the other guitarist is playing?

Are they worth having, just to keep the riff going during a solo, or for songwriting input, or just extra stage presence? Or are they a waste of space?

This question comes to me most often when seeing some of the "new" punk bands.

• Replies 108
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I see that alot.. It's one of thr reason i work as a trio right now... I'd like to have a second guitar player but it would have to be someone at my level or better.. Maybe different but just having a rhythym guitar player to me is kinda meh.

I'd love to do some ripping dual lead stuff and have someone who can really groove to play off of.. switch back and forth kind of thing.. Its hard to find

• Members

If they are playing the exact same thing all the time then I usually do not see the point but if they are keeping the rhythm going during solos and lead work then there is a valid point for it IF the music calls for it.

Then again, the band I am in (original music) has 3 guitarists. Sometimes we are all doing the same thing. Other times not. Depends on what the song calls for.

• Members

How do you guys feel about bands that have a second guitarist who plays EXACTLY what the other guitarist is playing?

Are they worth having, just to keep the riff going during a solo, or for songwriting input, or just extra stage presence? Or are they a waste of space?

Humongous pet peeve of mine. In cover bands, its a sure sign of laziness, especially in a standard 5-piece (2 guit, drums, bass, singer). It is rare that there is only 1 guitar and no keys in a song. Having two guitars provides the ability to really fill out the sound. Having both guitars play the same thing is a giant wasted opportunity in my book.

• Members

Maybe different but just having a rhythym guitar player to me is kinda meh.