Lessons I did and did not learn from BWTB

richardmac

• Members

I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

I am a solo performing musician who specialized in soft rock and music you don't have to shout over... Elton John's "Your Song" would be the stereotypical thing I play. But people are now booking me to provide music that older people can dance to. I didn't really have many songs in my list that are danceable, but with the economy being what it is, there are tons of places with an older crowd who want to dance. For $150 for three hours, they can either hire a bad band or a good solo musician.

So I had to add some danceable tracks from the 50's, 60's and 70's. I came to BWTB and asked what songs I ought to look at, and I did a little searching here myself. Here's a brief list of a few of the songs I learned based on recommendations from here:

Those songs, combined with the staples I already had in my list (like Margaritaville) went over very well. There were people dancing to every song above. But the two songs that really packed the dance floor surprised me - they were Johnny B. Goode and Runaround Sue. It was pretty funny watching 50+ year old women jump up and drag their husbands out to the dance floor as fast as they could like a bunch of high schoolers. And at one point in time a woman asked me to turn UP my sound system. Oh, and I didn't put out a tip jar, but one of the audience members went to the bar, returned with an empty (and dry) pitcher, set it up in front of me, and announced to the room that I had a tip jar.

The medley (an idea I got from here) also went over really well.

At one point an older woman came up to me during a break if I could play a few slow songs that the older folks could dance to, so I told her I'd be happy to, and after break I played "Just The Way You Are."

So thanks, BWTB... the advice I got here paid off.