The House Band: Keeping It Fresh

Leftcoast123

• Members

I've been playing with pros for the last 12 years and while an amazing project and great, great money, it has been an immense challenge for scheduling and logistics. 5-piece with vocalist and guitarist living in Vancouver and bassist and keyboardist living here on Vancouver Island but about 90 minutes south of me. Both bass and keys are with a national classic rock act that does about 150 shows per year across Canada. So, time to add an additonal project to my world and based on a conversation last April with my good friend who is the manager/booker for the sublime live room at our ski resort I prepared a multi-page proposal outlining the advantages of a house band idea as well as the solution.

I presented the proposal in mid-July after confirming 3 pros to be part of the project. The resort bought the idea lock, stock and barrel and we're commited to a 13-week run as the house band beginning Christmas week and continuing with Friday/Saturday nights to the end of March with the option of the first two weeks of April. Female vocals, gtr/bv and bass/bv along with yours truly on drums/bv. Venue is a destination resort and has a new audience, for the most part, each weekend. Demo is about 30 with a female skew. Our gear, or as much of it we don't need mid-week, stays on stage. Backing track for much of what we'll do and song lists are being put together as I type this. We'll be heading into rehearsals in the next couple of weeks and some warm-up gigs through late fall. If there is interest I'll post some updates as we progress. Name of the unit is Haus Banned , sort of a twist on Lady Gaga's backing band. ;)

We discuss thinking outside the box and non-traditional gigs here on the forum so I've posted this in that vein but many of you have played and put together house bands in the past. I'd really like your advice on keeping it fresh, fun and how you handled new songs during the run...

Cheers,

Dave