How many bands have you been in up to now?

tim_7string

• Members

How many bands have you been in up to now? Some people like to proudly proclaim that they have only been in four or five bands over the course of their lifetime, while others exceed the 20+ mark. Very rarely, there are guys who have been in the same band for many, many years (we're talking decades here).

I'm more in the 20+ camp. It could be viewed as a bad thing, but I actually treasure the years of experience I gained from all of those situations. I don't think I would be quite the same musician and vocalist that I am today if I would have been in only one or two bands over the past 26+ years since I started playing live in 1986. I've been a keyboardist, a drummer, a lead vocalist/frontman, a rhythm guitarist/keyboardist, a bassist/keyboardist, a lead guitarist, a lead vocalist/rhythm guitarist, a lead vocalist/lead guitarist, and a lead guitarist/keyboardist.

At this point in my life, I am now settled down as a lead vocalist/lead guitarist and that's the job I've been doing the most over my 'career' as a gigging musician.

• Members

I've been playing in bands regularly since I was a kid of 12 or 13, so I've lost count.

Plus, there have been times I was in up to 3 working bands at one time.

It's all a blur, man... it's all a blur. :lol:

But other than fill in work as a singer, I've been almost exclusively a solo guy since 2005.

• Members

Hmmmm...

Since I first started playing in 1976....

Six that I consider "Real" bands that really got off the ground and did some work. Two of those morphed into somewhat different bands with different names, but I consider those transitions to still be one band.

3 or 4 other bands that never really got off the ground. Either played only a couple of gigs or none at all.

And one duo.

And numerous sit-in and fill-in gigs.

• Members

I'm more in the 20+ camp. ...over the past 26+ years...