Battle of the harmonizers - Digi VL-2 vs. TC H-1

ProToneThinline

• Members

I thought this might be helpful for anyone considering a harmonizer. I've been using a Digitech VL-2 for a couple of years now (since they first hit the stores). I like it, but I had a couple of issues with it. When the TC Helicon H-1 came out, I thought I'd give it a try. FYI, I work in both solo/duo and band situations, so I always like to find gear that works for both.

The Digi VL-2 had been my "workhorse" for a couple of years now, and it works well. It tracks well, as long as the guitar signal is hot enough, and sounds good. The effects section is a bit limited, but works well, especially the enhancer. However, I had a couple of issues with it. First, it's large size makes it almost impossible to mount on a pedalboard, so it's a little inconvenient to use in a band setting. Second, the harmony footswitch is on the wrong side for me. It's on the right side of the pedal - it would work much better for me if it were on the left.

Next, the gain knob is mounted fairly high off the enclosure. I found that the gain pot would get moved when the VL-2 was in it's gigbag, etc., so I always had to adjust the gain before every gig. My last issue was that you'd get a fairly large volume boost when you kick the unit on. The boost would be applied to the root vocal as well as the harmonies. I learned to control that by backing off the mic when I switched in the harmonies, but it's still a PITA.

So, enter the H-1. It's actually a pretty impressive unit, and addressed most of the issues I had with the Digi. It's small, and fits perfectly on a pedalboard. The gain knob sits almost flat on the enclosure, and has a fair amount of resistance when you turn it. Once it's set, it really doesn't move. It only has one switch, so the left/right ting isn't an issue. The volume boost isn't as apparent. You still get some, but only because you have more "information" hitting the mixer's input.