Let's do a poll about compensation, shall we?

OneThing

• Members

So, if you are in a duo, or work solo, how much do you pull in a year doing it? If you would also like to include how many hours you average a week putting into it, that would useful information.

As for me, I'm still working out some things before I start looking for opportunities to play. I currently work a full time job (non music related), but will be switching to part time. It is my goal to eventually work as a musician full time. As a full time musician, I'm looking to pull in more than $50k a year.

So, how about you?

• Members

In addition to performing, I also give lessons, do repairwork and some customization, as well as breed/sell exotics (primarily reptiles, currently) and do some photography, so my annual income, of all these combined, is a bit more.

Average week of gigging, not including travel time, comes to maybe 12 hours.

Holiday's (Mid-November through the New Years) hours come to quite a bit more, though...today, alone, I put in 5, and will log 4 more tomorrow night.

• Members

i started out my solo career getting 150 a night for 3 hours. that was 20 plus years ago.

about every 3-4 years, i'd bump the price $25.

i book around 220 gigs a year. thinking if i raise my price, i will play less gigs, but make same amount each year.

after bumping the price substantually, i am still gigging 220+ times a year, but the money is much better. i've weeded out the low budget venues.

hours are easy. usually done by 10pm. i now have a social life outside of music venues.

i like my situation better than if i was a big recording star.

i couldn't be happier

• Members

i started out my solo career getting 150 a night for 3 hours. that was 20 plus years ago.

about every 3-4 years, i'd bump the price $25.

i book around 220 gigs a year. thinking if i raise my price, i will play less gigs, but make same amount each year.