Can they tell you what to drive now, too?

Loner

• Members

Here's an interesting scenario: A couple of weeks ago I played for this bar. I've played there a couple of times this summer and the people always seem to be a little stand-offish. The patrons and the staff, both. I've had small but appreciative crowds.

When I went in to get paid the owner said'I think people aren't coming in because your car creeps them out'. ( I travel in a hearse. It is a '95 and it has my logo and name all over it. No one would mistake it for a real hearse.) All I could come up with at the time was'That's too bad'. It's been bothering me ever since. I've been using hearses for 13 years now and I've never had the bar owner say something like this. The car is my calling card and rolling advertisement. I always say 'The kind of person who wouldn't go into a bar with a hearse backed up to the door is someone I wouldn't want to play for anyway'.

What do you all think?:confused::confused:

• Members

LOL... The owner is probably wrong but a hearse? Really? Damn- I felt weird when I had a mini van.

No one actually dies in a hearse. They are actually very practical. Think about it; A big comfortable Cadillac in front and a low roller platform in back to load your stuff. Plus they look bad ass!

• Members

Not saying you are wrong, but I can see where people would be uncomfortable with it.

People in the U.S. are generally freaked out by the idea of death and the dead. I think the hearse idea is cool. Perfect gig-mobile. However, I don't think I could personally drive one, nor could I live in a house where someone died, etc. I will freely admit that I have no rational reason for feeling that way.

• Members

It's a funny business. When business is slow it's usually the band's fault because they are the easiest thing to blame and the easiest thing to replace.