Hey, I'm new to rack gear...can you help?

• Members

Hey everyone-

I don't post here very often, and when I do, it's in the guitar forums. I just have a quick question. I'm new to rack gear, and I'm curious about starting one. Could you give me some opinions/ideas as to how to start setting one up? Thanks very much!

1. I like the look of the roto racks from SKB. Are these respectable cases? They certainly look durable and are relatively cheap. Any other ideas?

2. I'd really like a nice multi-fx processor. I like the look of the Rocktron Xpression, since it's cheap and seems to offer a lot of the things I would like. Are there other alternatives that are competitively priced?

3. I'm probably gonna buy a Furman power conditioner first, I hear it's essential to have something to protect against surges, etc.

4. Any other ideas as to what a beginner might want in a rack? You can check my gear in my sig. Thanks!

-SD

• Members

1. I like the look of the roto racks from SKB. Are these respectable cases? They certainly look durable and are relatively cheap. Any other ideas?

Gator case. Has front and rear rails, and you can get a shallower depth case.

2. I'd really like a nice multi-fx processor. I like the look of the Rocktron Xpression, since it's cheap and seems to offer a lot of the things I would like. Are there other alternatives that are competitively priced?

Xpression is great for the money. If you can handle used, you may want to look at a replifex ot multivalve. They are a discontinued variation of the xpression. I use the multivalve. Both the older units have a feature to switch channels on your amp too.

3. I'm probably gonna buy a Furman power conditioner first, I hear it's essential to have something to protect against surges, etc.

Good idea.

• Members

You could get a switcher and put your pedals in the loops. That way, if you aren't using a pedal you can take it out of the chain without physically unplugging it.