Your Thoughts On Martin MX-1 System

g4string

• Members

I am new to lighting and looking for a quick and easy system to set up and operate. I am willing to spend between $1K-$2K. I am looking for the best bang for my dollar.

The Martin MX-1 system caught my eye (4ea mx-1's, mc-1 controller, and all the cables). I found one new for $1700. What are your opinions about Martin and/or this system. If this is not a good idea, what would you reccomend? Thank you for your time.

• 2 weeks later...
  • Members

I know the MX system but not from personally using them.

My comments are on Martin.

Martin have been incredibly successful with the Mac range. The design for which was from the High End Studio Colour design which cheesed off Varilite.

The build quality of Martin macs if crap compared to ANY high end product or Varilite product. High end make better quality products than Varilite in my opinion.

There are lots of Martin products out there. Some of their light outputs look good but 'almost' all of them are comparable in quality to cheap Jap manufacturers. I don't care what anyone thinks of that comment.

Check the price of replacement parts. They don't care much if you need the parts 'Tomorrow'. They're "Martin.. er Professional"...

• 3 weeks later...
  • Members

Originally posted by Rimmer

I know the MX system but not from personally using them.

My comments are on Martin.

Martin have been incredibly successful with the Mac range. The design for which was from the High End Studio Colour design which cheesed off Varilite.

The build quality of Martin macs if crap compared to ANY high end product or Varilite product. High end make better quality products than Varilite in my opinion.

There are lots of Martin products out there. Some of their light outputs look good but 'almost' all of them are comparable in quality to cheap Jap manufacturers. I don't care what anyone thinks of that comment.