Yamaha EMX512SC Speaker Options

• Members

I am considering buying a Yamaha EMX512SC. My question is, when I get round to buy some speakers, do they have to match the power of the mixer? If they don't do I risk blowing them?

Thanks for the help, I am quite new to this.

jj

• Members

There are much more informed people on this board than me, but AFAIK it basically comes down to how you use the system. The EMX512SC will give you 350w a side into 8-ohms, so if you use speakers rated at or above that you're unlikely to damage them even if you turn up the amp all the way. But turning up the amp all the way will sound blegh so you won't actually want to use all that power. Hence, you'll likely not need such high rated speakers- if you use them sensibly.

The rating of the speaker just refers to the durability of the wires inside it; like a fuse wire, they will only handle up to a certain load. In short bursts they will handle higher loads though which is why you get the 'RMS', 'program' and 'peak' power loads. But if in doubt, get speakers whose RMS power handling is at least as much as the output of hte amp, because that's close to 'idiot proof'.

(But like I said I'm not a pro, unlike most of the guys on this board) :wave:

• Members

My question is, when I get round to buy some speakers, do they have to match the power of the mixer? If they don't do I risk blowing them?

First question - Preferably, for the reasons Bob O'Brian outlined above. In addition if you get speakers that are vastly overrated compared to the power amp, you may not get the best out of them either as you won't be driving enough watts through to get the speakers moving so matching the right speakers is definitely a preferable thing.

Second question - If the speakers aren't high enough capacity then yes, you risk blowing them.

• Members