Arranger Workstations

• Members

I've been working for a few months on a new musical project. Entirely electronic, entirely solo, it's nothing but software synthesizers, FL Studio, vocals, and a {censored}load of effects and mastering, without the slightest foray into a recorded instrument.

As the project has developed, I've begun considering the question of live performances, and after shopping aimlessly and trying to sort out what I need, I've decided to turn to an admittedly probably better informed set of people. So I suppose I'll just list my wants and needs and see if anyone can offer me some direction.

-Ideally, I'd like to use my computer onstage in place of a hardware synth. This is because I use many complex voices that would be extremely difficult to repatch for a piece of hardware.

-I'd also prefer this because it would be nigh impossible to attain the necessary range of effects otherwise, and I do trust my computer to a real-time performance.

-I'd like to use my computer for nothing other than synthesizers. That is to say, I'd prefer to play and record all my patterns using a physical keyboard, not MIDI files, and arrange them externally.

-This also means whatever MIDI device is controlling my software synths needs the capability to control multiple MIDI channels over a single connection. I don't know much about MIDI, so this may always be the case, or it may never be the case.

I'd also like to note that budget is a definite issue. However it's not a particularly huge issue, thanks to eBay and other resources.

Thanks in advance for any help, no matter how small.

• Members