Now he tells me

DeepEnd

• Members

Most of you know I play in a praise band and that I've owned the same amp, a Roland Cube 80XL, for years. I started playing electric regularly when a second acoustic guitarist joined the group and there wasn't a second DI box available. When we started streaming services during COVID, the sound guy miced my amp but he just discovered that my amp has a 1/4" line out that he thinks will work better. Again, I've had the amp and played through it regularly for years. Talk about observant. Anyway, in order to use that 1/4" output he'll need--wait for it--a DI box! Business as usual. When I need something it's not available but when the right person wants it, oh, absolutely! Having a second DI box means I'll be able to play my acoustic again but I think I'll wait until Summer is over. I don't want to risk leaving my acoustic in a hot car after church.

• Moderators
50 minutes ago, DeepEnd said:

Most of you know I play in a praise band and that I've owned the same amp, a Roland Cube 80XL, for years. I started playing electric regularly when a second acoustic guitarist joined the group and there wasn't a second DI box available. When we started streaming services during COVID, the sound guy miced my amp but he just discovered that my amp has a 1/4" line out that he thinks will work better. Again, I've had the amp and played through it regularly for years. Talk about observant. Anyway, in order to use that 1/4" output he'll need--wait for it--a DI box! Business as usual. When I need something it's not available but when the right person wants it, oh, absolutely! Having a second DI box means I'll be able to play my acoustic again but I think I'll wait until Summer is over. I don't want to risk leaving my acoustic in a hot car after church.

Then, by all means drive yours rather than stealing one....:music024:

Passive DI boxes are not that expensive....