Use house system or my own

• Members

I have limited experience in providing sound, and one of the groups that I have worked for in the past is performing a benefit concert. They have asked me to work sound for them with the understanding that no one is getting paid. I'm OK with that since it's a small job and for a worthy cause.

Here's my question; the venue has a relatively new house system that also incorporates video for when they need it. I have been told that I am welcome to use their system if I want to. I checked it out today and it is far more complex then I will need, and I suspect that even they will seldom use it to its fullest capabilities. The one thing they do not have is a mixing console. In order for me to use their system I could take the "line out" from my board and patch it to the "line in" on their amp. This would use their amp and their speakers (surround sound, front, side , and rear). Their set-up also includes a DVD recorder and a separate player, a CD player, a crossover unit, and a Pioneer Home Theater amp. I put a CD in and played with the system and it sounds OK, but seems to lack that "live" sound that I always associate with a live performance. I realize that some of that is due to the use of a CD, but I can still get what I consider to be a really good sound when I use a CD in my system.

At a minimum I will be providing the mic's, the stands, the snake, and my mixer. I am beginning to think that I would be better off my just using my amp and my speakers, rather than getting into the situation where I may have technical problems (insert pilot error) with their system. This is a public venue and will not be available to set-up until two hours before the show. After set-up that only leaves a short time for a sound check.