Probably a noob question. Involves singing/ screaming.

• Members

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to singing with a live band, and I have hopefully what is a simple question.

When doing a combination of screaming (80% of the song parts we have) and singing, what is the best way to get the sound levels at an equal volume?

I belt it out pretty loud while screaming, but when I sing I can't seem to hear myself as loud as I would like to. I usually turn the levels on the mixer so that I just barely nick the red level light on the back of the speakers when I scream.

Do I need something like a compressor? Again, I know that there are a ton of bands that do this kind of thing, so I'm pretty sure this is common knowledge.

The only thing that I can think of is turning the levels way up on the mixer, and hold the mic further back when I scream. I just don't want to push the speakers that hard if I don't have to. I can't see the speakers while I'm screaming to tell if the red light is coming on.

Any advice is appreciated!

• Members

I find it hard to believe that it's still too loud with your arm fully straight in front of you and the mic almost 3 feet away from your mouth. You need to improve your technique. Compression will help after that.

WTF? Who said anything was too loud, and where are you getting your measurements? The screams sound just fine. The singing fits the songs the way I want it to. It's just that the volume isn't coming in where it needs to be...And no, I'm not whispering. I'm actually singing.

Anyways, I guess I'm looking for tips from people who actually do this kind of vocal style. If there's a guide, please point it out. I've searched and haven't really found what I'm looking for.

And to Shaster, Yeah it's the limiter light. My bad. Compressor you say? Recommendations?