What Pickups/Pots/Jack for Charvel model 5fx?

Charvel1975

• Members
Hello everyone, this is my first post on here sine February of 2010! I'm going to go with passive pickups on my Charvel model 5fx instead of the EMG's that are in it now and would be taking the guitar to a guitar repair shop to have work done as well as having setup done as I'm not good at working on guitars, I can string them up, tune etc. But that's about it. Our cover band plays Classic/Hard rock/80's Hair Metal & some 90's music.

It had an EMG-81 (Non-Quick Disconnect) in the Bridge, a Slant EMG single coil in the neck (don't know if it's an SA, S or SV?), a Gold Original Floyd Rose and an ungrooved nut and the behind the nut Kahler Locking Piece. From what I've researched online the guitar has a Poplar body with Maple neck-thru neck, rosewood fingerboard. I also attached a pic of the gold Original Floyd Rose that was in it.

Since then, all this was done some years ago:

* The gold Floyd Rose Original was taken out and a black 80's Floyd Rose Original was put in - Still have the gold Floyd Rose 
* The ungrooved nut was replaced with a LSR roller nut 
* New Kahler locking nut installed
* EMG-81 swapped out for an 85 (still have the 81)
* Custom sleeves around the tremolo springs
* Orange Drop cap installed (don't know what value?)
* 3-way toggle switch put in - now it don't seem to be switching the pickups right

I want to do some upgrades as it never has stayed in tune that well and is very bright sounding right now and not in a good way. Also, all my other guitars have passive pickups, I just don't gel with the actives now. It would be setup for standard E tuning and I'm thinking of going with .009 to .042 gauge nickel wound strings. Any suggestions to improve the sound/tone/playability?