Need some PA advice

• Members

I am new to the FOH sound (always just played the drums for the bands I have been in) so be gentle please.

I am considering buying the following for a FOH system:

1 - A&H Mix Wizard3 16:2

2 - SBa760 subs

2 - SXA360 tops

This is for a 5 piece classic rock band that will mostly be playing small to medium bars of around 150 people maximum.

2 guitarists, 1 bass, 1 lead singer and myself which uses a Roland TD-20 electronic kit so my drums will definitely be going through the FOH for basically all of the drum sound (other than some stage monitor sound). We mostly play Heart, Boston, Pat Benetar, Journey type rock.

The only thing I am concerned about is the subs not having enough thump. Are these 15" good enough to feel some bass in a small to medium sized bar or should I be looking at maybe some PRX518S to pair with the EV tops?

We are all 40+ years old so of course the lighter the better but I also want to sound good. Since I am starting from scratch I figured powered speakers would be easier than getting amps, etc.

• Members

You can't go wrong with the Mixwiz, BUT do you have EQ's? You'll at least need one on FOH and one on each monitor mix, preferably 31 band.

For what it's worth, EV is discontinuing both the tops and subs you're looking at. That could mean discounts as they close them out so shop around.

• Members

I just love the folks that come in here and post the same exact thing (cut&paste) over at PSW:

http://srforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/51199/187/

Hope the OP is enjoying the flames over there
:lol:

Sorry to hijack a thread as a complete PA noobie (I spend most of my HC time on the Guitar or Backstage forums), but I need to buy a new PA, and this link seemed like it would have something that might work.

We're a 4-piece - bass, drums, guitar and vocals - We currently have 2 passive speakers (15") and a behringer powered board (700W I think). I personally think it sounds really thin.