Putting higher end pickups in cheap guitar

DACRAF01

• Members

I’ve been thinking of upgrading my Fender MIM Stratocaster with a new new Seymour Duncan Jimi Hendrix pickups preloaded pick guard. 

However I also own a cheaper guitar that I used when I started playing. A cheap Stagg strat I bought second hand off of Facebook.

As the preloaded pick guard comes with completely new wiring and insides, I was wondering what would happen if I replaced the Stagg’s wiring with my current pick guard setup In my MIM strat now.

would it make the stagg sound a like my MIM ? Is it worth it? Or would there be compatibility issues? 

I’m a massive noob when it comes to the technical aspects of guitars.

Would really appreciate some insight.

Thank you!

• 3 weeks later...
  • Members

It really depends on the style you play, how capable you are, and how fussy you are. I think pickups are about 50% of the sonic equation. But... the pickups won't compensate for all of the other "sum of the parts" bits.

I'd expect a big improvement with a pickup upgrade in the Stagg, but I don't think it'll end up sounding just like your Strat. Have a go!

• Members

A typical issue with foreign-made budget guitars is that although they may look identical to the name brand guitar, often there are subtle differences in size and layout for stuff like pickguards. So your old MIM pickguard may or may not be a "drop in" installation. Very possible that the holes in the new pickguard won't line up with the old ones.  You'll just have to try it and see. 

• Like 1

• Moderators

^ this...but not a big deal to pre-drill some new screw holes. You night have to trim a little bit of the pickguard to slip it under the neck as well [yes, I've done this type of mod for other people on Squier Affinitys and some of the 'new' Chinese made Strat copies].