Bit embarrassed to ask...but...any recommendations for strings?!

Brindleleaf

• Members

SO...wait! I imagine this has been done to death somewhere here...but..

I've recently got hold of a Yamaha FG 04 LTD (my apologies to the people who have read this in my NGD thread). 

My only other acoustic right now is a VERY light Lakewood and I use 10s on it.

Recently I started playing electric and using light strings there and found the sound of lights really fine.

Then I stumbled over this comparison of 10s and 13s on an acoustic.    Maybe it's just me, but the 13s sound kind of muddy and clunky (Warning the playing starts at 4:20!!)  

Now I  wasn't considering 13s, but 12s certainly.

Any thoughts?

Any favorite strings that you you can sing out?

• Members

Hello again, Brindleleaf

When it comes to strings it's really a matter of personal preference in sound and playability (and please ignore anyone who says you have to use 12s or 13s or whatever on this or that guitar to get anything like a decent sound - that is just their personal preference). As to PB v Bronze (or any other material), again, it's up to you

I always recommend experimentation with different brands, gauges and compositions. I've found that different guitars suit different strings. On one of my guitars - a solid Englemann spruce over solid mahogany dreadnought I prefer 10 gauge PB strings when it's in standard tuning (at the moment it has 14 gauge PBs on it down-tuned to standard C because I'm experimenting with a few songs that I think will go well with some low bass notes). On my 000 parlour I prefer 12 gauge bronze. And on one of my guitars - an old all-laminate dred - I actually have a set of high tension nylon strings. Sounds wonderful to my ears.

Have fun!

• Members