I'm new and here is my first rig, what do you think?

• Members

My name is Jon I'm a bassist and guitarist from Central Massachusetts. I will be running my guitar/bass through my Sansamp- PSA-1.1 DI'd. My brother Tom will be running his Yamaha S90SX DI'd as well. We both started singing, so that is why decided on buying a PA instead of acquiring separate gear ( my ampeg b-4R/ mesa 2x15" was stolen recently ) and a low level PA for vocals.

After a lot of research we went ahead and bought the following rig.

(2) - MRX525(s)

(1) - Crown XTI-4000

(1) - Furman PL-8C

(1) - Yamaha MG166cx

I'm hoping to buy at least one SRX728s before the summer is out and powering it with another Crown XTI-4000.

I also have a pair of 50' speakon cables, I was wondering if shorter is better with a speakon? A buddy of mine who works at the local GnC told me you can go up to a 100'+ with no degradation in sound quality.

Would the preset settings for the MRX525s in the Crown be good enough speaker management or should I invest in an external limiter/other piece of gear?

I've been doing a lot of reading here on the forums and I've read "The Live Sound Manual" cover to cover a couple times. But I have really no experience other than with my rig and friend's JRX rig.

I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to assist me. I assure you any advice will not fall on deaf ears and unlike a lot of other members I've seen on this forum I can take constructive criticism.

• Members

I also have a pair of 50' speakon cables, I was wondering if shorter is better with a speakon? A buddy of mine who works at the local GnC told me you can go up to a 100'+ with no degradation in sound quality.

Shorter is always better with speaker cables. The longer they get, the higher (lower) the gauge needed which means that they're heavier and more expensive. You're cables will probably be just fine for what you're doing though.

• Members