Overdrive pedal similar to marshall tones

devadam4

• Members

I'm not sure what you are using for an amp, but real Marshall amps are not really high gain.

They have a crunch to them.

You might dig this

I use one of these.. It's been on my pedal board for 10 plus years. I have a few other OD pedals, but this is my fav.

• Like 1

• Members

Ah, the ol' "Marshall in a box" question. OD pedals alleged to have "Marshall-ish toanz" include:

Zvex "Box of Rock"

Catlainbread "Dirty Little Secret"

Joyo "British Sound"

Tech21/Sansamp "British" (out of production, apparently. The Joyo is thought to be a clone or close copy of the SansAmp)

...and probably any pedal with "British" or "Plexi" in it's name. :)

I have no experience with any of these pedals, sooooo....good luck and happy toan chasing. 

Edited by Mr.Grumpy

• 8 months later...
  • Members

I heard the original and I don't recall what I heard it through but it was THE harshest tone I'd heard. Years later after learning that ODs are supposed to goose a good sounding amp, I think I probably shoulda paid the 50 bucks for it - although, Marshal tone is exclusively for those who can rock a guitar. So I call draw. Meanwhile, I got something called a Hot Chili by a seller called Mugig for 25 bucks and that rocks big time. I still don't but I gots da toan baby.

• 2 months later...
  • Members

There are several different versions of Marshall amps.  If you're looking for a Plexi Tone, 80's Marshall, or New metal you need a different box for each of those tones.  You typically need to compensate for whatever tone your amp produces too. Some pedals "might" be able to make a Fender amp sound like a Marshall if it has enough high end midrange to change the amps voicing. An amp (and speaker) with a wider Fidelity tone may need more compensation then another.