is my amp too big for my speakers? seems like a simple question...

• Members

but i can't seem to find a definitive answer anywhere. anyway, i'm getting a yamaha powered head that puts out 300W/channel. i use three 16ohm peavey personal monitors rated at 50/100/200 RMS/Program/Peak. by my calculations and understanding, that means running them in parallel the 300W amp will push 100W per speaker at 5.33ohms.

my questions are:

1. is my math correct?

2. will this blow my monitors up since the RMS is only 50W @ 4ohms?

bearing in mind we never turn our monitor levels up past 1/2 way on the head. also, each monitor has a volume control on the back which we typically leave set between 5 and 8 (out of 10). i would assume that the volume knob would cut the power to the speakers enough to keep their power handling below the 50W threshold even if we cranked the PA volume to 100% (which, mind you, we don't plan on doing. just for sake of argument here).

sorry if this is a total noob question. i've actually been in bands for years, just never found a decent reference to answer a question like this. thanks!

• Members

The ohms math is correct. What do you mean by a 16 ohm speakers being rated at 50 watts @ 4 ohms? The ohm load is at the amp, not the speaker. How can a 16 ohm speaker be 4 ohms? You speakers handle 50 watts RMS. You are feeding them 100 or their program rating. I don

• Members

my understanding of all this stuff is as follows:

my PA puts out 300W at 4ohms. so if i connect a 4ohm speaker to it, that speaker must be able to handle 300W.

i have three 16ohm monitors that run in parallel. so daisy-chained together they represent a 5.33ohm speaker load as far as the amp is concerned. each speaker then accepts 1/3 of the 300W total output of the PA amp, or 100W. but since the total resistance of the speaker load is slightly more than 4ohms, each speaker is getting slightly less than 100W.