Does anyone know what this is?

Ragman1

• Members

Hi all,

Firstly please note that I am a newbie and so be gentle on me.

i, like many of you, have been clearing out cupboards and lofts whilst in lockdown.  I found a bass guitar in my loft that I know nothing about ( my son got it for a birthday from an uncle about 15 years ago).  It says it is a Harmony and is clearly a bass guitar but beyond that I have no idea.

Does anyone know what model it is as he wants to advertise it for sale and wants to give an accurate description.

Thank you everyone in advance

AD0BB300-71E8-4C85-97B4-481CBB3C4F71.jpeg

6935BF3A-FE2B-4C08-8CC9-A2E972312377.jpeg

31BADDFD-F0B0-4A0A-A330-AFA73A86CF1B.jpeg

4F27F0A7-4BC9-4AFD-A590-CF6598F68D35.jpeg

• Moderators

Did a little digging on Google, and now I'm guessing.

It looks pretty much exactly like a Hondo II H830 bass guitar. Those were made in South Korea in 1980 (or so. Sometimes 1979 is mentioned, but sometimes they say that production didn't start until 1980). Probably made in the Samick factory, or what became the Samick factory. Very early models had a Maxon pickup, which looks like what is on your bass. Not long after, they switched to a split P pickup.

So, my best guess is that it's a 1980 Hondo II H830 bass, rebranded and sold as a Harmony H830S. Is the S for Samick, a company that ran a factory making huge numbers of instruments for multiple brands? Your guess is as good as mine.

What's it worth? Who knows? Ultimately, it's worth what someone will pay for it. Here's an ad for a Hondo II H830 with Maxon pickup for $300.

https://www.batonrougemusicexchange.com/products/1980s-hondo-ii-h830-bass

• Moderators
2 hours ago, DeepEnd said:

Unless the neck has been replaced that's a "Harmony" logo on the headstock. Beyond that, I have no clue.

That's why I guessed that it was made in the Samick factory. Most were badged as Hondo II, this one was badged as Harmony. Same bass, different brand. Happens all the time.

• Members