Sign in to follow this  
Trailrider00

Beginner looking for wisdom

Hey all,

As the title suggests, I am a beginner who is looking to finally learn how to play the guitar in all this quarantine free time. Unfortunately, I have absolutely no knowledge of what would be a good guitar to get. Thanks in advance for your help!

First, welcome to the Forums. :wave: Folks hereabouts generally recommend Yamaha. If I might be so bold, do you have a price range? These days there might not be any music stores open near you and you might have to buy something online or on CraigsList.

• Like 1

Welcome to Harmony Central! :welcome:

Online dealers are probably your best / safest bet for purchasing a guitar at the moment. We can give you several recommendations - Sweetwater, Musician's Friend, Zzounds, AMS, etc. etc.  

In addition to the questions DeepEnd asked you, can you please tell us what kind of music you like? Is there any particular style you'd like to learn how to play? 

Plenty of info and opinions here. I agree good starter is Yamaha. Wisdom? Seems sold out or in short supply these days. 

Yamaha really can't beat them for the price. Try to get at least a solid top.

• Like 1

Agreed a Yamaha in the 300 dollar range is pretty hard to beat. You'll want a case for it too. TKL or SKB are decent. The TKL's are traditional hard shell cases and the SBK are plastic.

Tuner, capo, and some picks and extra strings

If you got a fat stimulus check coming and are itching to spend it, a classic Martin or Gibson might be the way to go. Over and done, except for you next guitar.